Favorites: Faith and Family Magazine

Today I want to tell you about Faith and Family.  This is one of my favorite magazines, and the only Catholic magazine I read regularly.  There are many fine Catholic publications out there, I am sure.  There are many I would like to read.  However, as a homeschooling Mom of 8, I appreciate the immediate application of Faith and Family.  I like that I can look in the section called “The Season” and find activities and prayers that I can use to celebrate the liturgical season right away.

I appreciate the fine art that is depicted within the pages of Faith and Family.  For example, in the July/August 2009 there is a section dedicated to the Year of the Priest, with beautiful, edifying paintings by Francois Marius, Pietro Longhi, Nicholas Poussin, and others.  All of the pictures depict various “jobs” a priest performs in the fulfillment of his vocation, such as anointing of the sick and hearing confessions, in a most beautiful way.  I may not have time to go to a museum, but Faith and Family brings great art to me and brings beauty to my world of washing dishes and changing diapers.  In a way it helps me see that my life, as mundane as it may seem, is my way to heaven, and that washing dishes and changing diapers are acts of love and service, and pleasing to my Lord.

I will write more about Faith and Family another time.  As you can imagine, I don’t have tons of time to write reviews.  I have a vocation to live, and it just can’t wait.   I will say one thing, though.  Faith and Family can be a great tool in fulfilling that vocation.

See what I am talking about HERE.

One thought on “Favorites: Faith and Family Magazine

Leave a Reply

