Simple Woman's Daybook ~ May 5, 2009

[simple-woman-daybook-large.jpg]

FOR TODAY May 5, 2009…

Outside my window… Partly cloudy and breezy. The kids are transplanting some catnip they got from Nana’s garden.

I am thinking… about the books and items I need to order for next year’s school and the kitchen.

I am thankful for… for the gift of forgiveness.

From the learning rooms…finishing up school – only 4 weeks to go!

From the kitchen… have a beef roast in the crock pot. Need to make bread.

I am wearing… light blue cropped pants, blue sweater with hearts woven in.

I am creating… mini- greenhouses over my raised garden beds with my husband.

I am going… outside to plant seeds in egg shells with the kids.

I am reading… Kitchen Garden by Cathy Wilkinson Barash.

I am hoping… to have some tea parties soon.

I am hearing… “Oh What a Beautiful Mornin'” playing on the stereo.

Around the house… laundry waiting in the dryer (I can’t wait to get my clothesline up again), Maria taking a nap, kids eating apples outside.

One of my favorite things… Ian coming home after work!

A few plans for the rest of the week: finish up the week’s school, build a bed for the strawberries and plant them!

Here is picture thought I am sharing… I am sorry to say that my camera and computer still aren’t on speaking terms.

See the original Simple Woman’s Daybook here and read other entries: http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/

5 thoughts on “Simple Woman's Daybook ~ May 5, 2009

  1. What do you use your catnip for? We had some growing, but I never knew what to do with it, so I pulled it up.

  2. We pulled it up from my In-Laws’ greenhouse. I think their youngest son planted it to drive their cat crazy. Son is in college now, and Mom wanted all the plants pulled out so we can start this season’s garden, and Lucy asked if she could have it. She is hoping to grow it outside and make dried-catnip toys for their cat.

  3. I’ve heard that too – but I’m not sure how catnip tea tastes.

    Homemade catnip toys, what fun. Does she sew?

  4. I have never had catnip tea, but it is a mint, so I assume it tastes something like that. And yes, Lucy likes to sew little things by hand.

    I don’t think the catnip survived the transplant, though, so she might just stuff the toys with cotton batting.

Leave a Reply

