Simple Woman's Daybook ~ Dec. 16, 2008

FOR TODAY, December 16, 2008

Outside my window… snow, snow, snow. It is a bright, sunny day, but barely below freezing, and more snow expected today and tonight.

I am thinking… about my newest baby, due in February.

I am thankful for… my Mom’s recent visit, and how nice it was to have her here, even though it wasn’t long enough and she did a lion’s share of the work around here! My husband who works so hard, for all of our children, and for good health.

From the kitchen… We made a St. Lucy Crown for St. Lucy Day last weekend, rumdy balls (I didn’t have enough rum or brandy, so I used both), and Scottish shortbread! We also made a whole wheat sourdough bread loaf. Today all I have actually made is oatmeal for breakfast, but I need to make another sourdough loaf or two.

I am wearing…maternity jeans, a gray 3/4 sleeve top, socks and slippers.

I am creating… Christmas gifts! I am making a dollhouse-scale doll out of muslin. I can’t say how it will be dressed, because the recipient might read this and know it’s for him or her!

I am going… on a birthday date tonight with my husband!

I am reading… the latest issue of Victoria Magazine, The Search for Shakespeare by Joseph Pearce, and a book on fairies from the library that I want to ok before letting my kids read it.

I am hoping… the weather doesn’t cause us to cancel our date tonight.

I am hearing… Margaret playing the piano and Maria, Annie, Peter & Lucy singing, and Andrew and Peter playing with Lego.

Around the house… All the kids playing peacefully together! The house is a little messy, but it is joyful today, despite the snow.

One of my favorite things… Quiet snow and a cup of tea.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Put up the Christmas tree and put lights on it, but we won’t turn it on or decorate until Christmas! Talent show/pot luck at my Sister-In-Law’s house. Schedule one tea party for my new business.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing… well, my camera and computer are not speaking to each other, so I will not be posting a picture until I can find some software that works.

Please pop by Peggy’s and see the other entries for this week’s Simple Woman’s Daybook.

4 thoughts on “Simple Woman's Daybook ~ Dec. 16, 2008

  1. Hi Kitty!,

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I have added your blog to my Catholic SimpleWoman aggregator. Feel free to add it to your side bar!

  2. Whaaaaaa????????????? I didn’t know! Congratulations! Babies always make me smile!

    And, what a lovely list. I love the rumdy balls, grin!

  3. oops! I meant to do this every Monday or Tuesday! I missed one or two…

    Thank you ladies for your comments. I will try to keep post something a little more regularly.

Leave a Reply

