Housekeeping Meme

Tagged by Michelle at the Family-Centered Life!

Aprons – Y/N?

Yes! I just bought a new one because my old one was tearing at the pockets. It is my uniform for daily tasks from homeschooling to cooking to cleaning. I have used its pockets to carry produce from the garden or seeds and tools TO the garden.

Baking – Favorite thing to bake:

Blackberry Wine Cake

Clothesline – Y/N?

Yes, in summer.

Donuts – Have you ever made them?

No, but I have been tempted. Actually, I think I attempted them once, before I was married.

Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day:

Dishes

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?

Yes, in the mudroom.

Garbage Disposal – Y/N?

No. Compost.

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?

My Mother-In-Law. No kidding – she’s good at it and I admire her orderliness!

Ironing – Love it or hate it?

Ask my poor husband. Better yet, don’t.

Junk drawer – Y/N? Where is it?

Well, I don’t have enough drawers to designate one for “junk” but I have a “storage room” (which is also a play room for the older kids, a guest room, a Christmas present wrapping room, etc. heehee. It used to be a sewing room and my dh’s office when he worked from home.)

Kitchen: Design & Decorating?

big & open with a large island in the middle. Not much in the way of decorating, unless you count “clutter, early 2000s.” I actually think my kitchen is too big for me – I am a small person and find it tiring to work in there, even though I like to cook. I would design a smaller, more efficient space. Good for parties, though.

Love: What is your favorite part of homemaking?

Cooking, and putting fresh linens on the beds.

Mop – Y/N?

Yes but not often enough.

Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?

washing machine.

Oven – Do you use the window, or open the door to check?

Window, unless I need to check the temp. Time to clean the window by the way. Yuck.

Pizza – What do you put on yours?

Oooo… Feta, fresh tomato slices, a bit of olive oil, fresh mushrooms…maybe asparagus if it weren’t so expensive!

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?

What’s that? Can I get it online? Actually, pray a rosary, spiritual reading or nap.

Recipe card box – Y/N?

No. If it isn’t in my head, online or in a book I won’t find it again.

Style of house

2000 manufactured ranch-style

Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?

Yes. Tablecloth or place mats for every meal. Usually paper napkins, but I am trying to build a collection of cloth for every day use so I can just throw them in the wash.

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?

Neither. Not much under there except some empty jars for disposing of used oil, but it could use a scrub-down around the trash can.

Vacuum – How many times per week?

I’ll let you know when we get the vacuum fixed.

Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do a week?

average: one or two a day except Sundays.

X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do and cross them off?

No. I have tried this, but I keep misplacing it. I haven’t found my “system” yet. I do put important things on the calendar, which I look at several times a day. I get daily reminders from http://www.fylady.net in my email, too.

Yard – Who does what?

dh mows and waters grass and trees, and helps me prepare the soil for seeds, and I water and tend the flower and vegetable gardens in summer.

Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?

Clear the dinner table, put food away. If dh doesn’t have time, sometimes I will wash dishes and clean the sink, check on kids in bed and turn out lights.

2 thoughts on “Housekeeping Meme

  1. i will post the recipe when I get a chance. It is soo good! I have a lot of recipes that I want ot be able to find quickly, so I am thinking of starting a recipe blog. I’ll post the Blackberry Wine Cake there when I do.

Leave a Reply

