Week 2 Begins

We began our second week of homeschooling today. We’re not burned out yet! YAY!!

Seriously, we are enjoying our adventure very much. My 1st grader, Margaret, is picking up reading really well, and just loves math. Lucy, my 2nd grader, is looking forward to her First Confession and First Communion in the spring.

Andrew, 4, likes going off by himself and building things with Lego, and Anne, 3, likes to color. Susan, 2, also likes to color, but likes to eat crayons more. Peter, 6 months, likes to nurse and be held more than anything, which makes it imperative that I get our school supplies out before school begins every day!

What I am working on this week is using my time wisely so that the house stays in good order and the dishes and laundry don’t get out of control in the midst of our studies. I need to figure out the best time to do these things, and then do them at those times instead of wasting time doing things I could do later (like surf the ‘net, for example).

I actually already know when the best times for these things are. I just need to do them at those times before I get sidetracked by something else. In order for that to happen, I need to start a load of laundry as soon as I come out of my room, dressed and ready for the day, before the kids get up. Then I need to head to the kitchen and put away the clean dishes from the dishwasher, and start making breakfast.

In order for that to happen, the night before I will have had to put the dishes into the dish washer, treated any stains on the laundry and put the load I will wash in the hamper next to the washing machine, planned the next day’s school activities, and decided what clothes I am going to wear.

This will be easy once i get into the habit. Right now, I don’t do these things in order, so it is hard to remember what needs doing, especially when a certain 2-year-old is standing next to me as I try to type, whining about wanting a snack over and over again.

So – right now I will get the kids a snack (it is snack time, after all), and then I will see about getting the clean dishes put away so I can put today’s breakfast and lunch dishes into the dish washer. We have already finished with school for today, so the kids can watch Black Beauty which we borrowed from the library yesterday! Tonight i will treat the stains on the clothes that are waiting next to the wash basin, and tomorrow morning I will rise up early with a prayer in my heart and start the day more wisely.

Leave a Reply

