Help Needed: Spiritual Adoption

I am asking you for help, and I would like you to pass this along to everyone you can think of who would be willing to pray for our priests.

How any times do we see our priests leading their congregations astray? How many times do we complain to each other about it? Does complaining about it help the priest in any way (I mean talking about his problems to others – not asking him directly what is going on or offering help). How many times do we actually pray for our poor priests? When we DO pray, do we ask God to change the priest or make him go away so that life would be easier for us? Or do we humbly throw ourselves at His feet asking for forgiveness for the times we have felt superior to these servants that God has chosen for us? We cannot live without the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass, and the Mass cannot exist without our priests.

I am spiritually adopting a priest of my acquaintance, and intend to pray and sacrifce for him for the rest of my life. I will not go into specific details, but I will say that he desperately needs prayers. I am asking that you join me in sacrificing and praying for this man of God for as long as you feel called to do so. I also encourage you to adopt your own pastor or priest friends, because, you know, they can always use our prayers!

2 thoughts on “Help Needed: Spiritual Adoption

  1. I’m right there with ya. I love our pastor and priest, and I will pray for them. I hear people complain sometimes of what they do, but like you wrote, what good does that do? Praying for them is the best thing we could do. Good post.

Leave a Reply

