Holy Saturday Musings

What is Holy Saturday all about? What significance should it have in my life?

On the first Holy Saturday, the followers of Jesus were scared. They didn’t understand what had happened the day before, nor did they know what would happen the day after. 2000 + years later, we know that Christ rose from the dead on the first Easter Sunday. We know that Lent is a time to examine our lives and try again to get back on the road to the Cross and beyond with Christ.

But what about Holy Saturday; this day between our Lord’s Passion and His Resurrection?

I am a procrastinator. Perhaps Holy Saturday is a Grace day so I can catch up on all the things I should have done during Lent. Can I put all of Lent in one day? Maybe not, but Holy Saturday seems to be a “last chance” to get into the spirit of Christ’s life, Passion & death before His glorious Resurection.

That reminds me of the parable of the vineyard workers. The owner of the vineyard goes out throughout the day to find workers. The workers who come late get the same reward for their work as the ones who have been working all day. Seems unfair to the early workers, but God’s mercy extends to all of us, if we will just get to work at some point before the end. Holy Saturday may just be the last hour before sunset for some of us!

So what work does God have for me to do? Well, I find myself a wife and mother. My husband is a holy man who works hard to ensure that I can stay home with our 6 children. My children need their diapers to be changed, they need to be fed, clothed, taught their letters and their Faith. Our home needs straightening, and clothes and dishes need washing.

As I said, I am a procrastinator. It is almost 5 PM on Holy Saturday, and I have not yet helped the kids make the Easter gifts for their aunts and uncles which I said we’d make today. I haven’t put a load of laundry in the washer. I haven’t put the dirty dishes in the dishwasher. I haven’t said my daily prayers. Instead, I started this blog. I was putting off the work that God has laid out for me, but it has served as a reminder of what I need to be doing every day. Hopefully from now on I will blog AFTER I do my daily work! May God have mercy on me, a sinner.

Now, to work! I still have an hour before my husband gets home. I can at least put the clean laundry from last week away.

Leave a Reply

